• Home
  • /
  • Series
  • /
  • 10 New TBR List Additions – Top Ten Tuesday
Top Ten Tuesday | Lunch-Time Librarian

10 New TBR List Additions – Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. They are great at bringing new top ten themes and they have a huge list of them well in advance for those bloggers that like to plan super far ahead. You can learn about joining in here.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is about new additions to your TBR list. So I have below my 10 New TBR List Additions:

The Magicians Trilogy by Lev Grossman

I’ve already started reading this series and I love it! It has the world building of Harry Potter with the sophisticated air of a piece of literary fiction. That being said, I wouldn’t call this “adult Harry Potter” unless you want to be disappointed by how very serious they take magic. HP is about the wonderment and terribleness of the way magic is wielded, while the Magicians is about the wonderment and terribleness of life, oh and there’s magic too. Mostly I was moved to add this to my TBR list because 1. I already used a quote from it, so it’s probably good 2. uhh magic? Need I say more? 3. There’s a show based off it debuting soon and I want to be able to watch and compare. The novel is about Brooklyn teen Quentin who discovers that he has magic and is enrolled in a school for magicians.

The Widow by Fiona Barton 

This is being marketed for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on The Train. I loved the former and hated the latter, so I figured it was my personal duty to add this one to my TBR. I feel like comparing thrillers to Gone Girl is being overused to describe an thriller with a female protagonist. But I won’t know until I read it, so on the list it goes! It’s about a woman who’s husband is accused of a terrible crime, and the narrative appears to follow her after his death. Hmmm sounds familiar doesn’t it?

The Cage by Meagan Shepard

I read someone’s review for this, and now I can’t for the life of me remember whose it was  If I ever figure it out I’ll update this with a link. The premise is that humans are taken to this mysterious planet where they are put on display in a zoo. The mystery reviewer mentioned that these aliens are humanoid but have no pupils. Which seems pretty creepy to me. It’s a new concept though so I’m excited to read it.

The MagiciansThe Widow The Cage

The Star Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

A fantasy inspired by Indian mythology in the words of GoodReads. In the spirit of trying to read more diverse books I’ve added this one to my TBR. I found this on a Paper Fury post as a book mentioned by Misha @ Chasing Faerytales. Also the cover is gorgeous!

The Fishermen by Chigozie Obioma

I read this wonderful review @ The Book Satchel which clued me in to this book about a family thrown into chaos by a prophecy. The novel is set in Africa and the author is being called a modern Chinua Achebe and so there wasn’t any hesitation in adding this to my TBR list.

The Jewel by Amy Ewing

The idea of a dystopian world in which birthing ability is rare and prized has always been interesting to me. And apparently it must be to other people because other Children of Men (saving what might be the last fertile woman on earth, movie) and The Handmaid’s Tale (servants kept only to procreate, book) wouldn’t exist. From this book I’m expecting a YA version of the Handmaid’s Tale but we’ll see.

The Star Touched Queen The Fishermen The Jewel

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

I’m once again not sure where I even heard of this book, but apparently I liked what I saw. The theme of this book is definitely revenge with the protagonist joining a school of assassins so she can learn to execute her revenge.

The Star Shards Chronicles by Neal Shusterman

This was added because Neal Shusterman wrote it. ‘Nuff said.

Unbound by Neal Shusterman

Stories following the final book of the Unwind Series. Essentially making this the fifth book. I’m just excited to see what’s been going on with the characters since the series finished at the end of an old life and beginning of a new one. So I want to see what they’re all doing with their freedom. And I’m dying to see how Cam has turned out.

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Grey

Just look at that cover! I have to read it! The protagonist’s parents create a machine that allows you to travel between universes, and the girl travels through them to find her father’s killer. That’s some intense stuff! But if I’m honest with myself that cover is about 80% of the draw.

Nevernight The Scorpion Shards

Unbound A Thousand Pieces of You

What’s new on your TBR list? Any of these?

Let me know in the comments!

4 Comments

  • Kayl

    January 21, 2016 at 4:55 PM

    The jewel has such a pretty cover! I think I need to add it to my TBR! I’ve seen a lot of A Thousand Pieces of You, but I don’t know if it’s for me. The cover is to die for though!

    I know I tell you this every time I stop by, but I just LOVE your blog design. It’s so pretty!
    -Kayl

    Reply
    • ltlibrarian

      January 21, 2016 at 7:47 PM

      Right? I hope it’s good when either us gets around to reading it. I guess you need to be into time travel to get into it? But the cover does make me swoon everytime.

      And thank you! I took a lot of tweaking but it’s working well for me. Blog design updates are great. Which I’m sure you know since you just did one!

      Reply
  • Cait @ Paper Fury

    January 19, 2016 at 4:16 PM

    Ahhh I want to read so many of these! *happy dance* The Star Touched Queen just looks SPECTACULAR. OMG I HOPE IT’S GOOD. And I read Unwind a few years back? But this year I plan to reread it and then continue with the series. 😛
    (Thanks for linking to that post of mine!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Simple Share Buttons
Simple Share Buttons